• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Cooling - Flex Fan or Elect Fan

jamjet

Loc.
Tucson
351 EFI, Shroud, Griffin 4 core alum rad, Mr. Gasket 180 T-stat, stock water pump

Running 160 - 170 at cruz, when at idle in traffic 200 - 210...arizona 100 degree plus days.

Obviously an air flow issue..

Would a flex fan be the ticket?? I have no experience with one. I understand that the 4 core has a lot of surface area and that a 3 core would most likely work better.

I am thinking that an electric fan would be the way to go...I wouldnt think a flex fan would make a that much of a difference?? Seems to be pro and cons of the flex fans from other members.

No cut outs in the hood for airflow which would obvisiouly help.

Thanks

SaddleUp

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Vancouver, WA
If that was the only time it would get warm then 210 wouldn't worry me. If it's getting that hot in traffic at an idle though then it will get hotter on the trails.

I didn't even know there were any 4 core aluminum radiators available. Most are either one or two core. (Mine is a 2 core)