• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

paint question

yak67

Bronco Guru
do I have these steps right, this is my first attempt at paint....

1. I'm going down to bare metal

2. epoxy prime, do I need to wipe down the bare metal with a degreaser before I apply?

3. prime and block

4. paint

is that pretty much it, any small things I'm leaving out.....any help appreciated.

thanks, Tim

byson1

Loc.
Nashville
That's the cliff notes version but you pretty much have it correct. Yes, you should use degreaser before the epoxy primer. It's just safe insurance and you want to be certain that coat is on their good. If you block sand the high build primer it's always a good idea to wipe the surface clean with a 50/50 mixture of water/alcohol too before spraying any more primer or the top coat. Good luck.

Heus33

Bronco Guru
Dont forget to use a tack rag inbetween coats. At least use one before the first coat of paint.

Loc.
Rome, NY
If I may add some questions to this tread. How many coats of primer and finish coats of paint do you apply? What type of finish paint enamel of lacquer or? Will you be also applying clear coat? and buffing? In the intern I will do a search. I will be painting my own at some point in time. This will help immensely

Heus33

Bronco Guru
1957 - another NYer - welcome...

I'm REALLY novice in the paint dept but for a 'regular' paint job (driver quality) - two coats of primer is typical...as for color - thats a bit more complecated - depends on the color that you're using... most can get away with 2 or 3 coats for full coverage...

byson1

Loc.
Nashville