• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Locker Questions

COBronco2007

Loc.
Milliken, CO
I'm going to show how much of a rookie I am here but some help on lockers would be great.
I've been wheeling for about 4 years now and still have not locked the rear of my rig but I think I'm ready to take that step.....
I've been looking at the Ford 9" trac-lok carrier. Is this product any good or should I spend more on detroit?
Is the install of a carrier like this pretty strait forward or would I need someone to install it for me. Thanks!

Devin

Bronco Kineticist
I don't know if you have seen it yet or not, but Saddleup did a good write-up on lockers here:

http://classicbroncos.com/forums/showthread.php?t=86600

I would say that what locker you choose really depends on what you want out of your vehicle. I wanted good flexibility so that I could drive on the street in ice and snow, and be fully locked on the trails. So, I saved the coin and put in ARB's. But, you might not have the same wishes.

As far as the install of the carrier, no it isn't a straightforward process. But, if you do your research, get the proper tools, get some good advice, and take your time - it isn't horrible to do. I did both of mine, never having done one before.

wildbill

Old Bronco Guy
:p :p :p My 2 cents worth a D/locker is the way to go put it in and forget it just go have fun. I have been running one over 30 years and never a problem with it. I only run 33" tires 351W and a top loader 4 speed. I dont like the ones with air or electrical as to much to go wrong and the old cluch typ need to be replaced every 2 or 3 years if you realey use them. Good luck with your choice.;D ;D ;D Bill %) :cool: ;D

bronko69er