• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

body seams

chavis77

Loc.
sebring
Hello I like the clean look of having no body seams so how or what to use

I tried some seam sealer out of a caulk gun tube on a test spot tonight but did not like the out come so I'd like to know what yall have in mind thanks

TN1776

Bronco Guru
The seam sealer out of a tube is not made for smoothing body panels and hiding seams, just sealing seams up. Body filler (bondo/rage/etc) would most certainly crack pretty quickly so it's probably out. I'm by no means an expert but it seems to me that you'd have to either weld them together or smooth them out with lead/body solder, or some combination of methods. Any hod rodders on here? They are probably the experts.

jkskier

Loc.
Western Washington
anybody ever use lead for that purpose? or is that pretty much dead...thought that was what they were saying on one of the car shows

75bronco08

Loc.
sublimity,oregon
lead is the best but need to find a body guy that deal in it.its not as easy as it looks.i would weld them up.then grind them out smooth.just dont get it to hot or you will cause it to warp.them final coat of bondo.

302fix

I've seen it done on a classic Cougar and it looked fantastic and has held for several years without cracking. I believe he used body filler but he wasn't giving up his secrets (may have been lead).

POR makes a pretty serious filler that may hold up better.

I think it would look awesome! Shave the door handles and fill the seams. Give it a shot and post some pictures.

brian72

Early Bronco Student
my quarters are filled and smoothed (bondo)...looks real good

Crap...I found a crack 3/4" long the other day....

Explorer

Bronco Guru