• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Newbie: Hub disassembled

TorchRedTulsan

I'm still fairly new to working on my Bronco and very new to working on 4x4s so please have patience. I left the grocery store on Saturday and heard "something" fall off my Bronco and hit the parking lot pavement. I looked down and there were the parts to my driver's side hub. I have no idea what's actually broken or how to fix it so any help would be much appreciated.

Additionally, I could hear something grinding the inside of my wheel as I eased it back home (I was only a couple blocks away) and it looks like maybe the tie rod is rubbing against parts of the inside of the wheel. The balancing weights are completely ground off. The passenger side doesn't have this problem. Any ideas on this, or if they're related problems, would be appreciated.

DSC00717.jpg

DSC00718.jpg

DSC00719.jpg

DSC00714.jpg

DSC00715.jpg

Bronco Brian

Bronco Guru
Someone in Tulsa, OK need to help this guy out take him under you wing and show him the ways. Looks like the nuts are backing off and you are missing a round plate with 6 holes it that is what holds the hub (outer part ) in. You need to go buy a Chiltons Book on Broncos it will have a pic in it. Or someone my post it.

thegreatjustino

Contributor
Red Head Grease Monkey
Loc.
Stockton, CA
You definitely have some issues with your hub/bearings/spindle. If there is a fellow Bronco owner near you, the two of you should be able to disassemble it and figure out the problem. There aren't that many pieces in the hub assembly. Without seeing the whole thing dissembled, it will be difficult to figure out what's wrong.

kbldawg

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Marshall, AR