• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

front wheels have slop

67broncorebuild

Loc.
stanwood Wa
Hi guys, i have another question...
I have a D44 with the 78 bronco disks, with heim joints, rod over knuckle conversion.
I noticed today i have slop in the front wheels. I thought it might be lug nuts loose. I found out that wasnt the case.
I lifted it up, and the wheels have alot of play when i shake the wheel. Both will do this. I noticed the disks play with the wheel, so i made sure everything was tight(heim joints), and it still slops.
I am new to the D44 and componits. I have never opened one up.
Would it be as easy as a spindle nuts working loose?? Ball joints??
Thanks, any sugestions would help

charvey9

Loc.
Beaverton, OR
Have you checked the wheel bearings?

If they have never been replaced, its probably time for some new ones anyway. If it isn't the bearings, you will also get a good look at everything else you mentioned, and should be able to figure out the problem. If you aren't familiar with the D44, the toms bronco parts site has pretty good schematics for how things are supposed to go together.

OP
OP
67broncorebuild

67broncorebuild

Loc.
stanwood Wa
I found both spindle nuts were loose, stud was there for washer, just dont know why the back didnt suck up to the front one???
thanks again for the info, and help

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
It's very often the case that the spindle nuts/bearing adjusters are not installed properly during service or replacement.
They need to go through a specific procedure and the final torque is in the 75 to 90 ft-lb range.