• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Carburator Help!!!

SIIKBRONCO

Hello everyone. Well i just bought my 73 Bronco a couple weeks ago and its having serious carb issues. My mechanic says that it looks like its been sitting a while and there is some corrosion inside. He has tried to rebuild it, trouble shoot it and it runs like crap so the concensis is that 2 mechanics recommend a new carb. Right now it is a Edelbrock 8867 with manual choke. My Bronco has a 302, headers, basically stock. What would you recommend i buy? Any help is appreciated and i am not a very mechanically inclined person.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Surprised it's so corroded that they couldn't at least get it running better. Did they dip it first, or were they only putting new parts in it?
Shame to waste a good carb, but if it's indeed that far gone, I guess you do have to break down and get a new one.

What are your intentions for the Bronco? Daily Driver? Off-road only? Little of both?
Where do you live? High altitude or low? That kind of stuff.
I like the Edelbrocks for their ease of tweaking, but they tend to need more help than most in the off-road angles.
For the most aftermarket tweak parts, Holley's have it. You can also get one of the smaller carbs from Holley now. The Truck Avenger 470 seems a good choice for a stock to mild 302.
Seems the happiest carb owners for both are the Quadrajet owners, but you have to do more work to make one work on a Bronco.
See? Simple decision, huh?

Maybe a Holley TA 470 as a good middle-of-the-road choice?