• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Can i and how do i make a 69 automatic

Cutthoat1

Loc.
Sonoma
Just got a 1969 bronco and was wondering if it is possible to make the rig automatic. what would i have to change if possible , and what parts would i need to buy. basically im new to broncos and working on cars in general so any help would be greatly appreciated. so again what do i need to do to make this happen , and a ballpark price it would cost me. thanks for the help in advance and i know im a newbie. ;D

rjp1965

Just got a 1969 bronco and was wondering if it is possible to make the rig automatic. what would i have to change if possible , and what parts would i need to buy. basically im new to broncos and working on cars in general so any help would be greatly appreciated. so again what do i need to do to make this happen , and a ballpark price it would cost me. thanks for the help in advance and i know im a newbie. ;D

You definitely can and there is a ton of information on this site about doing it. I am currently doing a frame off restoration / modification on a 1967 EB. I chose to change to an AOD transmission (not electronic) and to rebuild it using the internals from a 4r70w (later model over drive transmission with many improvements to the older AOD). I had to choose between buying a relatively expensive transfer case adapter, or changing to a different transfer case. I chose to change to an NP205 transfer case. It bolts up to the AOD transmission, is a stronger transfer case and for the same price as buying the adapter I was able to have a nice, new competely rebuilt and bulletproof NP205 transfer case. So it's kind of a bonus.