• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

EFI or Carb? What should I do?

luckieschmuck

Loc.
West Hollywood, CA
Hey guys,

I'm clearly a newbie here trying to get some feed back. I have a 1976 EB with a 66 289 that was rebuilt in 2003. It was bored out from a 289 to around 296. It has an edelbrock intake with a holley (p-80?) 4b carb. I'm contemplating putting an EFI to it and I wanted to hear what the EB enthusiast had to say. Which one is better or is it just preference. thank you all for your opinions. :)

NC-Fordguy

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Bethel/Greenville NC
If you're into hard core rock crawling, the kind that rips up sheet metal, or if you find pumping the gas pedal in the morning before starting traumatic, or drive to and from high elevations, efi is the way to go.

If the carb serves your driving style, keep it

Viperwolf1

Contributor
electron whisperer
Since you have to deal with CA smog inspections you might want to keep it stock.

1970mule

Bronco Guru
also the cost, EFI is going to cost you waaaay more. and then there is the trouble shooting aspect.

OP
OP
luckieschmuck

luckieschmuck

Loc.
West Hollywood, CA
also the cost, EFI is going to cost you waaaay more. and then there is the trouble shooting aspec

wow, didn't know how much trouble with cost I was going to get into.. I thought it was going to be an easy swap..I have no problem pumping the gas in the morning. Thats what I grew up with. (Carb). As for EFI, I thought my engine would be running smoother and also with less gas consumption.

Since you have to deal with CA smog inspections you might want to keep it stock.