• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

floor pan dilemma

bptommy

Loc.
Arlington, TX
Im replacing my floor pans and need some advice. This is my first time doing metal work so forgive any stupid questions or assumptions on my part. When I cut my pas. Side floor out I had to take more metal than the new floor pan will cover the metal thats left is good so now I need to bridge the gap over the rear brace. My question is do I spend the 40.00 dollars on a new rear section cut out the good metal and have two new complete pieces to weld in or make a patch piece? If I should make a patch piece how should I weld all three together so that its strong? For example should I butt weld them or overlap the metal and lap weld them as well as plug weld on the overlap? To much heat? Also should I weld in the front portion then bridge the gap with the patch piece or weld the patch piece up to the new floor pan and put it in as one piece?

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_0801 - Version 2.jpg
    IMG_0801 - Version 2.jpg
    144.4 KB · Views: 185
  • IMG_0802 - Version 2.jpg
    IMG_0802 - Version 2.jpg
    202.3 KB · Views: 173
  • IMG_0803 - Version 2.jpg
    IMG_0803 - Version 2.jpg
    117.6 KB · Views: 190
  • IMG_0804 - Version 2.jpg
    IMG_0804 - Version 2.jpg
    236.4 KB · Views: 152
  • IMG_0805 - Version 2.jpg
    IMG_0805 - Version 2.jpg
    160.3 KB · Views: 157
  • IMG_0806v2.jpg
    IMG_0806v2.jpg
    158.7 KB · Views: 162

fummins97

Loc.
Richmond, Mi