• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Axle Bearing question

SSDDBRONCO

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Los Angeles
So i took out my axle shaft because it has been leaking. Do i just change the bearings that are on it or is there some kind of seal that i need to change as well? Also inside the axle there is some kind of like metal that looks to be a seal should i replace that or just leave it. Is that the one that is causing my axle to leak differential fluid? ?:? Im not a expert at this axle stuff so i really need help;D. Also since i changing my bearings should i dump out my old diff. fluid? If so which one do you recommend? I know i have too many questions but that's what this site is for ;).
Thanks A Lot

mortimersnerd

I'm assuming you're talking about a rear axle. Yes, you should change the bearings as long as you've got it out. Do you know if you have a big bearing or small bearing rear end? Post up the OD of the bearing and we can tell you if you don't know. There are seals involved, which ones are there depend on what type of bearing you're running.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Yes and yes. Even though the bearings themselves are sealed, it's just to keep the grease in, not to keep the gear oil from leaking. That's done with that inner seal you're probably looking at.
Not sure why it would look like it was all steel though, unless it's just hard and shiny from age. Press your finger down on the inner lip and see if it flexes at all. If so, that's your old seal. If it's fairly hard, that's likely your leak too.