• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Drop Pitman Arm choices

Glass Pony

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Sussex County Delaware
Hi, Newbie here.
Do drop pitman arms come in different drops other than 4"?
Would a 4" arm be ok to use on a 2"-3" lift?
I'm restoring a 74' and used a Duff 2" lift and in a conversation with them due to my fiberglass body and roadster kit I should probably see closer to 3" of lift.
Thanks in advance, G.A.

Madgyver

Contributor
Bronco Madman
Welcome to the site...

IMO, Don't use drop pitman arms. There are other better options to correct steering and tracbar geometry.

sixtyniner

Welcome to the site...

IMO, Don't use drop pitman arms. There are other better options to correct steering and tracbar geometry.

Agree. And shouldnt be needed for 2-3 lift. Well at least not for me. I had tried a 2 inch drop and it was too much I would bottom out on my tie rod at times.

bknbronco

Bronco Guru
Loc.
North Metro, MN
Really?.....what options. I have a 5" lift and will be doing a chebby TRO swap, but not sure the tie rod will be flat enough still without a drop pitman. What options are there other than that? Ill deal with the trac bar with a riser bracket after the steering is done.

Sorry for the hijack.

Attachments

• IMG_1689.jpg
    IMG_1689.jpg
    115.3 KB · Views: 141
  • Picture1.jpg
    Picture1.jpg
    116.7 KB · Views: 134

broncnaz

Bronco Guru
Well at 5in lift your options are limited. For lower lifts the TRO only is a better bet. Still a lot of people do TRO's and dont run the drop pitman arm with taller lifts. While a flatter angle is better your only going to get so flat and its not a sports car so your limited.

JohnJohn

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Richmond