• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

C4 transmission rebuilder near Charlotte, nc

Broyal

Anyone have a recommendation for a transmission rebuilder in Charlotte nc area? I have a 74 with a c-4. I called one shop and was told 1200-1600. Crazy.

Broncmeister

I speak from experience here. It is not that tough of a job. The words transmission rebuild are a scary thing, but the C4 is not exactly the space shuttle. Get yourself the shop manual for the C4, a rebuild kit, and a set of bands, oh and grab a sector shaft seal too if your kit doesn't come with. I did mine over a weekend, and I am far from a mechanic. When I bought my bronco I couldn't even change my own oil, now I am just about finished rebuilding it from the ground up, including mechanical and paint, all done by myself. I made the decision when I bought the old girl that nobody works on my bronco but me, or somebody working with me. The C4 rebuild saved me around a thousand bucks by doing it myself, and the amazing feeling of accomplishment when you are done is awesome.

bronco t

Contributor
Loc.
San Diego CA