• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Seriously confused on PS set ups

tlb017

Loc.
Baton Rouge
Ok I am going to ask for some forgiveness here as I am completely new to working on this bronco I just purchased and all the threads I have been able to pull up just confuses the crap out of me about 4x4x2 or required changing of worm gears.

I have a 75 with a 93 5.0 motor conversion lifted 4'' suspension and 2'' body with the original PS gear box. I had it in for a new set of tires and a front end alignment and it needed a new tie rod and the guy said the gear box has a lot of slack causing most of my issues.

My question is, I keep reading that a f150 gear box will work but from what year model?

Does it have to be from a 2wd or 4x4?

Can I pick one up at the local napa, auto zone, etc... and just bolt it on (after drilling the two new holes) or does it require additional modification?

I see where BC broncos sells them but he is currently out and won't have any in for a few weeks. I am trying to it out of the shop before then.

Thanks and if there is a thread already dedicated to this and I just missed it could you please post a link in a reply :)

broncnaz

Bronco Guru
Bc broncos has info in there Tech section but basically You need the 78/79 4wd F150/ big bronco box do start the conversion. Then you also need a ford 2wd box to swap the guts out with. Plus you'll probably need a new ujoint to connect the new box to your current steering shaft.