• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Engine dies out

collinbrewer

Loc.
Austin
I've been driving my Bronco for about 6 months now after a complete frame up with no major issues. I'm running a 5.0 EFI from a '91 Mustang.

On my way home from work the other day I was cruising at 60mph and she just died, cold turkey. No warning, no sputter, just done.

I coasted into a parking lot and jiggled everything I could think of and found a *slightly* loose wire on the ignition switch, tightened it up, turned the key and she fired right up... Finished my drive home.

The following day: same story on my way to work, this time there was nothing to tighten... looked everything over and found nothing. Turned they key, she fired right up... Finished my drive to work.

Same day on my way home: same old story except this time, I coasted to a stop, turned off the key, and on a whim, ate sunflower seeds until 5 minutes had passed. Turned the key, she fired right up... Finished my drive home.

From that, it seems pretty clear that it's a heat issue and we're having 90º+ days here in Texas.

My only thought is that my computer is overheating and shutting off?

Thanks in advance.

Bronco Junkie

So Cal Broncos
I'm no expert by any means....but if it was heat...why would it fire right back up after just a few minutes? Usually, a motor will get hotter in the few miuntes after shut off when the cooling system is also off and there is no air flow. Just throwing that out there.

jw0747

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
San Antonio, TX
my problem like that was overheated fuel pump. where is your f.p. mounted external on frame or internal fuel tank?

OP
OP
collinbrewer

collinbrewer

Loc.
Austin