• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

disc brake conversion

jrp544

hi all, i am trying to decide if i can redo my little bro's bronco for him. i am a retired volvo tech. i am familiar with parts swapping from different years/models that fit and work. i am not a computor guy so navagating the forum is a little difficult for me. i would like to see/read a tech article about the disc brake conversions, ford or chevy to determine which is more available/affordable. my bro has limited funds, but my labor is free. he has a 1970 box stock bronco, at least i think it is a 1970. 3 on the tree, v8. not sure but i think a 302? could it be a 289? i don't know which axles etc. he wants to keep it stock as possible, but would like more safety in braking for the kids and when towing his little tent trailer. the engine was redone about 25yrs ago and only driven a few thousand miles before it was parked in his garage. i don't know how many times since then it has even been started. how do i get to the right areas here to read what i need to know? thanks to all who can help me with this. i would really like to see him driving that thing again. jp sorry if i am posting this wrong, please let me know.

thegreatjustino

Contributor
Red Head Grease Monkey
Loc.
Stockton, CA
If he has a Dana 30 front end, the chevy swap might be the best bet, and those parts would swap to a Dana 44 front end if he ever needed too.

If he has a Dana 30 - which would have been stock in 1970, the Chevy conversion is his ONLY bet. The Ford swap will not work on the Dana 30 due to the knuckle incompatibility.

The best Chevy conversion article is here:

http://www.emotoman.com/disc/discbrake2.htm