• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Has it really ever happened??? ECM and welding

00gyrhed

Bronco Guru
I have read on many occations from that you should never weld on your vehicle without disconnecting the battery. The theroy being that you could damage the ECM or even the battery. I have been welding on vehilces for over 30 years. Professional welders weld on thier trucks every day and do not disconnect the battery. I usually disconnect the battery to be safe, but I forget almoxt as often as I remember. I have never had a first or even second hand bad experience. Like a lot of these things its always a freind told me. Or it happened to a guy I know, but the story teller never really saw the results.

Has anyone actually ever lost an ECM due to welsing ontheir vehicle?

It takes my ECM about two weeks to relearn everything.

NYLES

Bronco Guru
Not exactly what you wanna know but MSD does say disconnect the computer box. Nothing about the battery.......wonder if it makes any diff what polarity you weld in?

Better yet how would you weld on your rig with an onboard welder with either dissconnected?

SaddleUp

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Vancouver, WA
NYLES said:
Better yet how would you weld on your rig with an onboard welder with either dissconnected?
If you check out these systems they are isolated entirely from the main battery. (The last one we used we literally pulled 2 batteries out of other rigs and used them to power the onboard welder)