• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

I'm puzzled...

MDBronco

Trying to get my 351W running correctly this weekend.

It needed a new carb, so I put on an Edlebrock 4bbl to start. Fires right up! I drove it about 1/2 mile test and all seemed to be ok...

Then I swapped out the spark plugs this afternoon. The wires look new so I didn't mess with them.

Now it doesn't want to run right. It idles fine, goes into gear, but as soon as I give it some gas upon acceleration it dies.

The fuel filter isn't completely full of fuel.. I let it idle and took a look under the hood. I'm a newbie at this stuff, but it looked like hardly any fuel was passing through the filer. (In-Line fuel filter inbetween the pump and the carb) Filter looks fine, just not much gas in it. Maybe this is why the engine is starving for fuel when I give it gas?? Not sure.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

-Sam

Fishmanndotcom

Loc.
senoia, GA
have you tried taking the filter off just temporarily and trying it? that would tell you right quick whether you needed a new/bigger one or not!

also, make sure your fuel pump is pumping with enough pressure to push the fuel through the filter

-cutts-

SteveL

Huge chevy guy
Loc.
Hawthorne ca
plug wire not all the way on. spark plug gap. If it was running before check out what you played with.

OP
OP
M

MDBronco

I have the mixture scews at 1.5 turns out

I got new plug wires tonight but they gave me the wrong ones...

Tried to start it up and see if anything magically changed, and now it seems like it isn't getting hardy any fuel through the filter, not enough to turn over.

Plenty of fuel in the tank, I guess it is the fuel pump.