• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

intake install

73calisteed

Loc.
Tustin
Ok guys i will peface my post with telling you i am a novice mechanic. I just bought a new Holley 470 truck avenger and an edelbrock performer intake. I was going to have a mechanic do the install but he quoted the job at alot more than i want to spend. My question is how hard would it be to change the intake? Is it a difficult job or something that is pretty straight forward and something a "rookie" could handle? Any tips would help, thanks.

Dan

Pa PITT

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Stephenville TEXAS
It's one of those jobs that needs a rookie and one old fart maning the beer cooler for support ....It'd help if you had a buddy that has done one or 2 before
or you 1st wil leak.......

70_Steve

Old Guy
It's a reasonable job for someone with some mechanical skills. Other than basic hand tools, you'll need a torque wrench and a good gasket scraper.

Use FelPro 1250 intake gasket. Also use RTV Ultra Black or Ultra Blue to seal the ends of the manifold instead of the supplied gaskets.

Drain the coolant. Remove the thermostat housing to let more coolant drain from the manifold. No matter what you do, there will still be coolant left in the manifold to spill into the lifter galley when you remove the old manifold. Be prepared to change the oil when this job is done.

Be very thorough removing the gasket material from the heads and block. I sometimes use an old wood chisel as a gasket scraper.Take your time. A sharp hardened tool will gouge the cast iron.

A little RTV around the water ports on the heads will help seal them.