• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Cylinder Head size help/advice on a 302 motor....

TexasDude

Loc.
Dallas
For a street build on a 302 with upgraded cam, timing chain, intake manifold, and long tube headers, will aluminum heads with 190cc intake runners and 64cc combustion chambers be overkill? I'm a total newbie when it comes to heads and their configurations. From what I understand, for low end torque, you would want 170-180cc intake runners and maybe 58-60ccish combustion chambers, correct?

Thank you so much in advance,

WheelHorse

Bronco Guru
What brand heads do you plan on using? Not all heads given equal specs perform equally.

rguest3

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Edelbrock E-Street Heads - 170cc heads with 58cc chambers

The 69 Bronco in my Garage has a very nice 302 build. Excellent street motor for the Bronco.

OP
OP
T

TexasDude

Loc.
Dallas
Yeah, I'm on the fence in getting the E-streets or upgrading the heads for the eventual swap to a 351W.

I'm keeping the mechanical pump for now, but might go electrical pump later. I like keeping things as original as possible. However, I'm gathering from other Bronco owners that there are two camps of people, those who are in denial and start building their 302 first, and those who go straight to the 351. I guess everyone ends up at the 351 eventually.

needabronco

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Prescott/Farmington
Depending on the heads you currently have 64cc chambers could lose a full compression point if you have say 58cc heads now. As I understand it 190cc intake runners will make your engine a high rpm race engine at the sacrifice of low rpm torque. I'd suggest 165cc intakes and a 58cc chamber on a 302.