• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Rock Slider Instal

PaveBronco

Getting around to installing the Rock sliders I've been tripping over for the last 3 years. But, what do you guys do about the rocker panel lip, where the inside and outside meet? Looks like, from searching the interweb they just get slapped on, but that cant be right.
I thought of cutting the outside lip off, bending the inside lip over and welding. or cutting both off and welding together.
Anyone done anything like this?

Awaiting your wisdom.

Attachments

• Sliders.JPG
    Sliders.JPG
    83.9 KB · Views: 132
  • Rocker.JPG
    Rocker.JPG
    90.7 KB · Views: 119

Boss Hugg

Contributor
Bronco Guru
I'm thinking they are supposed to cover that lip up, but idk. I did mine with 2x5 tubing just below the door.

Rustytruck

Bronco Guru
My guess your either mounting the whole thing under the lip or outside in front of the lip. Might want to check whoever built them. I would not damage the welded lip as its structural to the body. Some people mount the sliders in place of the rockers. cut out the front of the rocker and the bottom of the outside rocker and use the lip to weld on the back of the slider.

GloNDark

I've installed 3 sets from different vendors. 1 on my rig and 2 on others. All three went right over that welded seam.

Try testing fitting them and see how they slide up. I will bet that they fit best with the seam still in place. With the seam gone, I know that mine would have been too high up and get in the way of the door closing.

FordBronc

Contributor
Bronco's, yea I have a couple.
Loc.
Polk County, Missouri