• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Bronco won't start, then puff of white smoke....

Birddog75

Newer bronco owner who has been enjoying the vehicle until last week. Let me start by saying I am new to broncos (and old cars) and learning as I go. Its a stock 1970 with a 302 and 3 speed. I had driven the vehicle multiple times during the day. I went to drive it and upon turning the ignition click (one click) and nothing. My multimeter wasn't reading correct, but it thought lets pull the 9 year old Optima battery and have it checked. After Monument ran a battery and cranking test they said the battery passes. Put it back in and tried cranking. One click nothing. I checked the solenoid. Im able to get current through the solenoid to the starter side. Now I'm thinking it may be the starter. I tried jumping the solenoid and nothing. I pulled a battery from my truck to rule out a bad battery. Nothing. Pulled the starter and hooked it up on the ground from both batteries. It works. Placed it back in vehicle, tried to start, and one click. Nothing. Removed the connections from the front of solenoid for the third time and hooked back up. It fires right up. Drive to Monument for them to run a diagnostic. Test is as follows, State of charge 66%, Battery life 0%, Cranking test 18% at 5.84V and charging system fails. They recommend starting with new alternator and test from there. I install the new alternator, and fires up first try (Now, I wish I would have done a voltage test). Drive it back to Monument for another test. After about 5 minutes of driving, engine dies and white smoke from under the hood. The fusible link wire connected to the solenoid (battery side) melted and broke off between