• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

New Welder advice

triracer67

Contributor
I'm in the market for a MIG welder. I'm a novice welder and usually borrow a neighbors Hobart (with gas) to build exhaust and weld bumpers. I'm tired of borrowing and looking to purchase something new. I will use it for exhaust, and sheet metal repairs. I'm hoping to stay under $500, what should I get, or look for? Thanks in advance!

pcf_mark

Bronco Guru
$500 is pretty low. That being said a 110V welder with basic capacity for sheetmetal and exhaust will work. The Chinese welders (all of the $500 range ones are) have pretty decent performance but they usually have shitty whips (welding cable/sheet/handle/trigger) and switches that break. You may get years of service out of them they just are not that great to work with and if you need parts you are hosed. And the duty cycle is usually 20% which you can hit pretty easily.

If I was buying in the $500 range I would try to find a used Miller or Lincoln or Hobart and get a better machine you can get parts for when they break. It may also be a bigger machine 220V opening up a wider range of projects.

I have had a Chinese $500 mig and Chinese $700 tig and a $2,500 Miller. The mig had worked but had crappy gun I could not replace. The tig is much better but again the foot control and ground clamp are junk. My Miller is a Cadillac and a work horse.

SteveL

Huge chevy guy
Loc.
Hawthorne ca
If you plan on keeping it spend the extra cash for a good one. Otherwise you'll end up wanting to upgrade later. There's some nice stuff at about the $800 range. After using my buddies tig it's hard not to want one. The welds come out so much nicer

bronkenn

Contributor