• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Qtr Panel + Door + Fender fitment advice?

1buckeyefan1

So i'm a newbie metal guy, but gaining experience on my 74 EB. Just knocked out the inner front fenders w/ lots of help from the previous build threads and just cut out my passenger inner quarter and front wheel extension. Patched in part of the wheel tub and have everything mocked up.

I'm looking for pro tips + advice (from experience) on what to check and more importantly the welding sequence before I start welding things up? I removed my door brace and reinstalled the door. The front fender has a few bolts holding it in place for mock purposes only.

The inner quarter has a few screws in on the front. It's hanging pretty well on the original door striker post and the original rear tail light extension.

There seems to be quite a few variables here and I want to ensure I get them all correct:

1.) front fender. I replaced the inner fender and hung the outer in place. It looks pretty decent?
2.) door hinges . original to the vehicle. I have removed the doors and bolted them back in place and adjusted them a half dozen times to get it close
3.) door. original to vehicle, I don't think it's ever been replaced or skinned. But does have some mud in it, so probably not an *exact* reference point. I've got a skin for it that I may eventually put on, unless I find a good donor door. Do I dare weld in all of the quarter panel metal and then redo the door? I'd rather get the quarters done now and dig into the doors later if possible, using the original doors as reference. I have skins for both sides.