• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Which crate engine and where?

Tidewater

Finally getting back to my 76 Bronco. It needs an engine and I'm not getting takers on the rebuild. I'm not a mechanic myself either, at all.

I have been told to get a crate engine. The engine that came in the Bronco was a standard 302. I'd like to get a crate 302 that has a little more than stock performance. Which companies should I be looking at for this engine?

cannunz546

Contributor
Bronco Owner and Admirer
Loc.
Northwest Suburbs, Chicago
I bought from the guys at engine factory (a family business) and love the performance. I swapped out my 302 for the same engine size but the new engine has 400hp. Lot's of torque, too. I have two other engines from them and all have been terrific.

OP
OP
Tidewater

Tidewater

I bought from the guys at engine factory (a family business) and love the performance. I swapped out my 302 for the same engine size but the new engine has 400hp. Lot's of torque, too. I have two other engines from them and all have been terrific.

I just checked them out. Most of what they have is pretty high end I think.

AZ73

Contributor
Bronco Guru
ATK and Blueprint are about equal. I would look at what's easier to deal with in your area for any warranty work for either.

crankman

ATK and Blueprint are about equal. I would look at what's easier to deal with in your area for any warranty work for either.
I agree my shop that did my engine change used Jasper and they warrantied it. Its been 2 years and trouble free.

bronconut73

Bronco Guru
Those are three great builders.

ATK
Blueprint
Jasper

I have had a Jasper, outstanding....