• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Fuel Injection upgrade: How tough is it?

chirolaker

Loc.
Kalispell, MT
Hey guys. I'm really interested in upgrading my 351W to fuel injection. What are your opinions and experiences with the different brands, and how hard is it to do myself. My self-taught mechanical skills are lacking and this seems like it would be quite involved.

tpep3

Loc.
Elmhurst, IL
I just did the Holley Sniper. I have no car background and I thought it was borderline easy. A lot of great instructional videos online.

sanndmann3

Bronco Guru
I did the E.D.I.S. route with EFIGuy doing the harness and computer. Finding a Lightning upper and lower was the hardest part. It is absolutely doable, not that difficult.

ObscureMachine

Seatbelt Orifice Officer
Loc.
World Headquarters
I'm planning to go with the Holley Sniper. Seems super easy. Gets away from carb issues. Plus it will keep my engine bay neat and clean the way I want it to look.

RADO

Loc.
Phoenix
The most work intensive part of adding fuel injection for me was converting to a high pressure fuel pump, new fuel tank and running all brand new fuel lines. Not hard, but time consuming. The fitech install was quick & easy, with most of the effort in the tuning after turning the key.

Timmy390

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Conway, AR
Finding a Lightning upper and lower was the hardest part. It is absolutely doable, not that difficult.

Don't you mean paying for the Lightning upper and lower is the hard part? LOL Jaw dropping prices is all I've seen

Explorer upper fit the Lightning lower. There is a marine version of the Lightning lower (it's cast iron) and can be had for less. I run this combo.....