• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Frame back from the blaster- Tech questions

mebco09

I just brought my frame back from the blaster, and have a couple of questions for the experts-

1. My radius arms were crusty when they went to the blaster, now they are showing some pitting where they attach to the frame. Is this amount of pitting OK, or should I think about replacing them? -OR- can I weld and grind them back into spec. (I've never done this before, but thought it might be possible)

2. I am not impressed with the factory welds, most seem pretty ugly. The attached photo is one that I am not sure about. Looks like some burn through and overall uglyness. Any concerns about the strength of this one?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_20181113_121718869.jpg
    IMG_20181113_121718869.jpg
    85.4 KB · Views: 185
  • IMG_20181113_121754640 (1).jpg
    IMG_20181113_121754640 (1).jpg
    60.5 KB · Views: 200

bronkenn

Contributor
Bronco Guy
Loc.
Southeast Ohio
That amount of pitting won't hurt anything. The factory welds are a bit ugly but they held up. I ground some of my welds and rewelded them mainly for cosmetics. I went over the whole frame and cleaned up all the welds before I painted it. Ken

Last edited:

broncodriver99

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Glen Allen, VA
Your radius arms don't look too bad. I have seen far worse. I would not weld on them. They are forged parts and the last thing you want is to compromise the strength of the steel right where your front axle attaches to the truck.