• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Tell me what you see in my engine compartment

Greg Bell

Hey guys,

I am new to Broncos. This is a 1967. What all do you see in here? I know the heads where rebuilt and it appears to have electronic ignition.

timetravelfoundation

web.jpg

web.jpg

Broncobowsher

Total hack
V8, smaller, 289 or 302
Edelbrock elite valve covers and air cleaner. Probably installed the same time as the aluminium intake. I expect a 4-barrel carb and with the Edelbrock theme I would guess an edelbrock carb as well.
MSD blaster coil. The 3-wire plug looks like a Mallery distributor
Eletrical conduit clamps holding the heater hose to the inner fender and a coolant flush T installed.
Heater control valve installed on the wrong hose (should be the intake to heater hose to limit pressure build up in the heater core)
An additional ballast resistor added to the firewall with some slopply looking butt connectors used and exposed for future corrosion issues with the wiring.
The unpainted head bolts show the heads were painted off the engine, so I do believe that head work has been done. From the looks I would guess that all the engine work was done at one time or about the same time. The wiring (comments below) looks to be more modern then the mechanical work

next, still have the factory surge tank. Mounted above a stock Ford power steering pump of 80's vintage. Is it whining yet?
Also have a vacuum power brake booster conversion done.
Missing the fan shroud
That wiring on the passenger fender is scary, but details in the third picture make me think there is a good sized aftermarket stereo installed.