• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Let’s talk headlights! Halogen vs LED vs HID vs aftermarket vs retrofit (and more!)

Heus33

Bronco Guru
Hi everyone! I am Tom from HIDprojectors.com and wanted to put together a post where we can ask questions and get knowledgeable answers about headlight upgrades.
I have been modifying automotive lighting since 1998 and building professionally for nearly 10 years. I don’t claim to know everything about lighting but am happy to answer any questions you may have and would like to share some of the more common questions we see here.

Here are a few popular topics – feel free to ask away and I’ll do my best to help!

Higher kelvin does not equal brighter lights.
The higher the “K” rating on a bulb, the bluer it becomes. Here’s a general guide:
3000K – yellow color – best used for fog light applications
4300K – white with a slight yellow tinge – most companies use this color stock. Its generally the brightest and the easiest on your eyes.
5000K – mostly white.
6000K – white with a slight blue tinge – this is probably the most popular color because it appears to look brighter but is not quite as bright as a 4300K bulb.
8000K – blueish tinge – this is where you really start to see output diminish in favor of ‘color’ and is not recommended.
10,000+ blueish / purple – stay far away from this range.

Lumens are not a good measurement of output.