• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Cost of A/C Installation

bigmex

Hi all,
I'm just learning to work on my Bronco and I have done few basic things, replace shocks, radiator hoses, brake pads, install emblems, etc but I decided to hire a pro to install an A/C system and other misc stuff.

One shop locally quoted me $6,000 ($4,000 parts and $2,000 labor) for the A/C installation.
A quick google search I can find complete kits for $1,500-$2,000, anyway I'm wondering if anyone else has hired someone to do this?

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Hey bigmex, welcome! Hopefully someone has some experience with this, but for the most part we hear about those that are doing it themselves. Or bought a Bronco with it already installed.

With any of the kits I'm somewhat familiar with though, it's a pretty involved installation. So for my area at least, that $2,000 labor does not sound exorbitant.
Sounds like a lot! But not necessarily out of line.

Good luck

Paul

bronconut73

Bronco Guru
They don't want your business.

Mine wasn't that bad.
I worked at a leisurely pace.
Three weekends and I almost had it complete.
Entirely by myself.

It was cathartic. If there is ever a problem with it I know every nut, bolt, fitting and wire,.....

You can probably do it too if its not your daily driver and you can spend a few weekends on it.

Broncobowsher

Total hack
I can completely expect a grand in labor.

There are a LOT of variables in this. How involved is the kit? A simple under dash or a complete in dash? Lots of different pulley and bracket configurations have been put on a Bronco since they were new.