• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Nothing Special – ’71 daily driver – trail rig build thread

Nothing Special

I’m pretty new here so I thought I’d introduce myself at the start of my build thread. My name is Bob, I’m a mechanical engineer and now an empty-nester. I took my screen name when I joined a Ford truck forum as an intentionally ironic description of my vehicles. I don’t start with particularly uncommon vehicles, and I don’t go for a lot of flash. But I do a lot to make my vehicles my own, so underneath they are pretty special, at least to me.

I’ve been a Ford guy since 1974 when my dad bought a 1929 Model A as a father-son project. I was 10, so he drove the project for a while, but eventually I pulled away from him, doing a frame-up restoration. Here are before and after pics.

80-picture_php_pictureid_125596_82df95c367380b51e918addcbc6e68e935a1b468.jpg

80-picture_php_pictureid_125601_390a5d1a33279fc40e2cd6d75681973ce0f00640.jpg

An ’85 F-250 was my first “real” car, then my one and only non-Ford, a ’75 Jeep CJ5, which was another frame-up build.

80-picture_php_pictureid_125613_1d1e013c5a6625335e6dd1de07acdd1a63182701.jpg

80-picture_php_pictureid_125618_0c1b1fb2406551e8f836f204e2ff40ef12fec33d.jpg

The Jeep was a fun family trail rig until my 2 sons outgrew the back seat. Plus there’s no room in a CJ5 for 4 people and lunch. I considered several bigger options, but in the end an early Bronco was obviously the only choice!