Bronco Hut    

   Ford Bronco Parts - Classic Vintage Early Bronco Parts   Toms Bronco Parts   BC Broncos
Community
 Message Forum
 Photo Gallery
 Event Calendar
 Book Reviews
 Bronco Wallpaper
 Bronco FAQ
 Link Back to CB!
 600+ Bronco Links!
 
Search all Bronco Links
Buy / Sell
 Classifieds / Want Ads
 Vendor Forum
James Duff
Rust Bullet
Sexton Offroad
Bronco Tech
Recent Tech Articles
 •Holley Carb Tips
 •Aussie Locker
 •C6 203 205 Doubler
 •4 Link
 •Clutch Replacement
 •Early Turn Signals
 •C4 Improvements
 •Threaded Dipstick
 •NV3550 5 spd
     More Tech...
Ford Bronco Parts - Classic Vintage Early Bronco Parts

Welcome to the ClassicBroncos.com Forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a GUEST which limits your access to viewing only. To take advantage of all the forum features please take a moment to register. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact the admin. If you've lost your password click here.

Go Back   ClassicBroncos.com Forums > 66-77 Ford Bronco > Bronco Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10/17/20, 05:05 PM   #1
oldiron
Sr. Member
 
oldiron's Avatar
 
Just tryin to get by being quiet and shy, in a world full of pushin and shove.

Chattanooga
Joined: Jul 05
Posts: 985
engine building professionals

SLOWLY rebuilding the 302 in the '72 after the clutch disaster, and came up with a question that I can't find an answer to. Is there any real reason not to install the cam in the bare block first? i.e. before the crank and rotating assembly? It would make installing the cam carefully a lot easier if the crank wasn't in the way.
Greg

'72 Wagon 302/3spd Seapine Green Poly.
'77 wagon 302 C4 unlifted, uncut, unmolested.
oldiron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/17/20, 07:48 PM   #2
B RON CO
Contributor
Bronco Guru
 
B RON CO's Avatar
 
still workin' on it

Statesville, NC
Joined: Jun 16
Posts: 2,072

My Gallery
Garage
Hi, you can put the cam in first if you want. No problem. What many guys do is screw a long bolt into the cam to use as a handle to help guide the cam. Good luck
B RON CO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/17/20, 11:46 PM   #3
Madgyver
Contributor
Bronco Madman
 
Madgyver's Avatar
 
RADIO FLYER ROCKS

Honolulu,Hawaii
Joined: Jul 01
eBay: madgyver
Posts: 13,499

My Gallery
Garage
3/8" all thread rod about 12" long will help with a cam install regardless if the crank is in there or not.

ClassicBroncos on the rock....

My builds. Click links below for pics.

Yellow77 redo...

Green77...

Taz's FireBronco...
Madgyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/20, 09:58 AM   #4
oldiron
Sr. Member
 
oldiron's Avatar
 
Just tryin to get by being quiet and shy, in a world full of pushin and shove.

Chattanooga
Joined: Jul 05
Posts: 985
I actually have a cam install handle. Every engine I've ever built, I've installed the crank first. I started asking why we always do the crank first and got no really solid answer other than " thats just the way we do it". One older machinist told me that it kept him from rotating the engine on the stand more than was absolutely necessary. i.e. finish the bottom, rotate it, then finish the top.
Greg

'72 Wagon 302/3spd Seapine Green Poly.
'77 wagon 302 C4 unlifted, uncut, unmolested.
oldiron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/20, 10:19 AM   #5
EricLar80
Contributor
Bronco Guru
 
73BRNCO

Joined: Jun 01
eBay: EricLar80
Posts: 2,033
Garage
If you use a handle (long bolt), use assembly lube, and install carefully, you really don’t have to worry about damaging anything.

1973, Dana 60 rear, HD Dana 44 front, 4-wheel disc, fuel injected 393W w/Moates QH, 4r70w w/Optishift
EricLar80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/20, 10:26 AM   #6
sanndmann3
Contributor
Bronco Guru
 
sanndmann3's Avatar
 
351W Detroit Lockers

Detroit
Joined: Jun 07
Posts: 1,642

My Gallery
Garage
I stood the block up with bell housing end down and lowered the cam carefully in.
sanndmann3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/20, 11:09 AM   #7
73azbronco
Contributor
Too much time on my hands
 
73azbronco's Avatar
 
Aridzona
Joined: Nov 07
Posts: 6,557
I always did this^^^^ and installed before crank on engine stand.

73 Explorer , 347stroker, NV4500 D20, Quadrajet spreadbore with manual altitude compensation, 4.1 ARB, Moser CTM Currie, 78 FSB disk brakes. 3.5 WH suspension lift, 2" Body lift for NV clearance.

Build here:http://classicbroncos.com/forums/sho...69#post1759569
73azbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/20, 07:14 PM   #8
ared77
Contributor
Bronco Guru
 
Winchester, Ky
Joined: Apr 13
Posts: 1,580
Garage
Now that's a good idea! Much better way to drop the cam in rather than trying to hold it vertical and not nick cam bearings. Thanks for the tip.

Storm'n Norm'n
ared77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/20, 07:22 PM   #9
blubuckaroo
Contributor
Grease Monkey
 
blubuckaroo's Avatar
 
Our factory order

Ridgefield WA
Joined: Jun 07
Posts: 11,103

My Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ared77 View Post
Now that's a good idea! Much better way to drop the cam in rather than trying to hold it vertical and not nick cam bearings. Thanks for the tip.
I learned this method from an engine builder. Building an engine "on end" is lots easier on your back. They told me, engine stands are for amateurs. I have one, but find the bench easier.

'77 Ranger/cut F&R/PS/PB/Vintage Air/2" suspension lift/1" body lift/T tie rod conversion/33-1050-15 BFG K02 tires/ 302/ Edelbrock 500 CFM 4 bbl/Aero Tanks/ Hooker Headers/ dual ex/ NV3550/ B&M shifter/ JB FabTwin Sticks/ 4.11s/rear posi.
blubuckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/18/20, 07:28 PM   #10
73azbronco
Contributor
Too much time on my hands
 
73azbronco's Avatar
 
Aridzona
Joined: Nov 07
Posts: 6,557
Engine stands are where you store the engine... Or on an old tire

73 Explorer , 347stroker, NV4500 D20, Quadrajet spreadbore with manual altitude compensation, 4.1 ARB, Moser CTM Currie, 78 FSB disk brakes. 3.5 WH suspension lift, 2" Body lift for NV clearance.

Build here:http://classicbroncos.com/forums/sho...69#post1759569
73azbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  ClassicBroncos.com Forums > 66-77 Ford Bronco > Bronco Tech

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Bulletin Board Software by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.


This site created, owned and maintained by Jon Hanna
Copyright 1996-2020 All rights reserved. Privacy Statement
ClassicBroncos.com is not affiliated with Ford Motor Company

Page generated in 0.50968 seconds with 71 queries