• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Dumb tilt question about column tilt.

helpme

I'm brand new to the EB world. I possibly made a bad trade for a tilt column and for the life of me cannot figure out how to make it tilt. The internals are tilt, in fact it is tilted, but see no way tilt it back. Thanks!

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Is it a factory column of some kind, or is it aftermarket made to fit the EB? And it's already in a Bronco, or still loose?
Most aftermarket columns will use the turn signal stalk or a separate short lever near the turn signal lever.
You can see some on our site here: https://www.wildhorses4x4.com/category/Ididit_Columns

If it has two holes on the left side then there is probably meant to be the separate lever.
If there is only the one hole however, you probably push/pull the turn signal lever.
Very carefully however!

You can play with the lever gently to see if it moves forward and backwards, vs the typical up-and-down of the turn signal function. If it looks like it will move, give it a try.
If the hole where it enters the column is larger than it needs to be for just up and down movement, or if it is a little cross-shaped, then this is probably the way.

Maybe the best way is to post up a picture of it. That way if it's something a little different someone will probably know about it.
You can use your "garage" or "gallery" function in the User CP to post a few images, or use an online image hosting site like SuperMotors or whatever.
If you are going to end up posting up more and more pics to the forums (we love pics here!) then you can become a contributor for 12 bucks a year and that lets you post directly from your device.

Good luck.