• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Fuel tank replacement question

Jiujitsu Bronco

Greetings, this is my first time on here. I recently purchased a 1974 Bronco Ranger and am considering switching out my 2 tanks for a 23 gallon stainless steel tank. Was hoping to get some input on if this is a good idea or should I leave it as is with the 2 tanks. Any advice will be appreciated

Rangerbj

Unless you are having problems with the old system or you plan on long drives where no gas stations are, why fix something if it's not broke? Just a thought

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Hey Jiujitsu, welcome to classicbroncos!

That's not a bad way to look at it especially if you have other things to fix first, to get it running reliably.
But if fixing your tanks is on that list, then the single larger tank is usually more gas than both the others combined, and gets you all new clean stuff as well.

Even though my preference is to run both the new larger rear main tank and the old aux tank together, I'm pretty sure that most people do get rid of the second tank in favor of just one big one. It seems to be the majority of stories here on the forum.
I just happen to like having as much gas on board as possible.

One main reason for the single tank option I think is the proliferation of EFI setups and the difficulty of setting up the shallow front tank with an in-tank EFI pump. The new rear tanks are dialed in for that pretty well, but nobody makes an aux tank pre-made for an in-tank pump.