• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

74 excessive positive camber

dholder

74 with 3.5 inch lift and 35 inch tires. Drives great but has too much positive CAMBER. Outside edge of tires wearing badly and positive CAMBER is very visible, even after installing adjustable ball joints.
If I were to cut and turn the inner C, is there enough clearance between the axle tube and the C to be able to correct the CAMBER?
I would want to be able to do enough correction to eliminate the 1.5 degree adjustable ball joint. I'm guessing about 3 degrees of correction.

Thanks guys!

broncodriver99

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Glen Allen, VA
I have no experience with adjusting the axle C's. I run camber shims. They go between the knuckle and the spindle. I don't like the idea of the adjustable ball joint so went the shim route instead. They are available from RockAuto and a few other places in various degrees of correction. Just another option to consider.

broncoman1972

Bronco Guru
I'm pretty sure you can only change caster by cutting the c's. I would use the shims mentioned above.

garberz

Bronco Influencer
Loc.
Conejo Valley, Ca.
That's a lot of correction needed, sounds like an issue with the housing. The yoke is a tight fit to the housing tube, you won't be able to correct much of any camber when welding it back together.

Mark

OP
OP
D

dholder

I am sure the shim and ball joints are installed correctly. The positive camber was lessened compared to where it was in the beginning. tirewater, I was only able to find 1.5 degree shims. Can you point me to these thicker shims? If so, I could get measurements and maybe another 1.5 degrees might get me in the ballpark.

broncodriver99

Bronco Guru
Loc.