• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

DIY soda / sand blasting? Or should I pay a professional?

DuctTape

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Bozeman, MT
Finally getting the spare time to start my frame-up rebuild. I've worked on old vehicles quite a bit, but I've never done a complete resto before.

One of the decisions I need to make is how to get the tub cleaned. I've gotten a local quote for 800+ for soda blasting, which seems to be about right.

But considering I can pick up the tools I need for the price of the blasting, and my time is "free", I'm thinking about doing the blasting myself, but I'm concerned about the level of skill required to avoid screwing up or spending $600 on media.

What do you folks think? Should I do it myself or is it worth it to go with the professionals?

needabronco

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Prescott/Farmington
First off you can't buy 'soda' specific equipment for $800. The blast pot and nozzle specifically for Soda would cost considerably more. Now you could buy a $200 blast pot and nozzle and sand blast your heart out, but you'll end up with warped panels. This is assuming you have a monster sized air compressor already that can handle the continous duty cycle and volume of air. You could possibly get away with doing soda that way but the soda itself would run you $3-500 depending on what you use and where you get it from. Soda specific blast pots are designed to keep the soda from clumping and is different than a 'sand' blast pot. The nozzles are different also. A few years ago I almost pulled the trigger on a complete Soda blasting setup to go into business, so I do know what I'm talking about... And it really does cost more than a sand blasting rig...