• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

drivetrain swap for an early bronco

jasonbradmorris

Loc.
Wynne, AR
how much time, aggravation, money am I looking at to put a fuel injected 302 motor, a 4 speed with overdrive transmission, and the required work and components to go along with doing such a swap? I am not a mechanic, so I would have to pay someone to do anything that involves pulling out anything or cutting anything.

Airmapper

Foolproofness Tester
Loc.
Bowling Green, KY
how much ..... money am I looking at

I am not a mechanic, so I would have to pay someone to do anything that involves pulling out anything or cutting anything.

Money to have the work jobbed out? Lots. I don't consider myself a mechanic at all, and have been gradually working up to larger and larger projects with the generous help and guidance from the guys here.

If your mechanically inclined at all I'd at least look into what is involved for your mods and see if it's not something you could tackle yourself. It will be a lot cheaper, but could possibly take longer. I don't know though, I've seen shops take forever to do a simple job so who knows you might could match their time even with learning in the process.

broncoitis

Bronco Guru
Like Airmapper said give it a shot yourself. If you have even the slightest bit of common sense you can get it done. Now if you just don't wanna turn the wrench then it iwll COST you! :eek: