• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Help rough shifting

crodog72

Loc.
Lafayette, La
I'm new to classic vehicles and Bronco's but I purchased my First one this past Saturday. It's a 1972 Ford Bronco 4×4 that finished its Restoration in 2009. This vehicle is equipped with a rebuilt 302 Motor that has mild Cam, Holly Truck Avenger 4bbl, Edelbrock Manifold and Mallory Distributor. The front axle is a Dana 44 Chrome Alloy Axle with 4.56 Gears and a Powertrack Unit. The Rear End is a Ford 9” with 4.56 gears and a Detroit Locker. The Transmission is a rebuilt C4 with an Art Carr Shifter, New Torque Converter and Shift Kit. Truck is equipped with a high lift jack, Floor boards have a rubberized undercoating finish, Corbeau Ultra Wide Off Road Seats, and a Bikini Top.

Here's my concerns.....

When shifting from park to any gear it jumps pretty hard, and the same thing when it's driving and shift. Also it shifts from 1st to 2nd around 4500 RPM's and jumps pretty hard. Also, is there any good ideas for hiding wires below the Dash... I find it to be an eye sore. It seems to be geared more towards off roading but I just want to do a little Sunday riding and pick up groceries and beer in it. thanks in advance

DJs74

Bronco Guru
Congratulations on your purchase and welcome to CB.com!

As for the hard shifting from low to second, etc - that's probably a purposeful result that was done as a performance modification in the transmission (valve body) with the installation of a shift kit.