• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Opting for Dana 60s

fdezone

Loc.
Fredericksburg, VA
I'm just learning, so I figured this might be helpful for some...

I've been collecting parts for my D60 builds for quite sometime. So far I've accumulated the following:

FRONT:

HP D60
BOM 610313-2
1988 1/2 - 1991 1/5 F-350 Monobeam SRW
WMS to WMS = ~69.25"
Has 35-spline inner & 30-spline outer axles.

24610740365_large.jpg

REAR:

FF D60
BOM 603381-5
1973/74 F-250 3/4 Ton HD 4x2 Pick-up
WMS to WMS = ~66.50"
Has 16-spline axles! I have a 35-spline carrier. The spindles still need to be bored out to accept the 1.5" diameter, 35-spline axles.

24610740251_large.jpg

Still on the wish list are high steer arms, 35-spline stubs, rear disc brake components, diff covers, lockers, etc. If you're looking to dump anything, please let me know what you have and what you're asking.

Last edited:
OP
OP
fdezone

fdezone

Loc.
Fredericksburg, VA
If you're in the Fredericksburg, VA area, Fredericksburg Machine Shop can bore your spindles. I'll let you know how much when I have the actual work done.

Fredericksburg Machine and Steel, LLC
2202 Airport Airport Ave.
Fredericksburg, VA 22401

(540) 373-7957

http://www.fredericksburgmachine.com

Cool video of a D60 spinning on a lathe!
[youtube]fm84z_gLEa8[/youtube]

FWIW, I read a post by East Coast Gear Supply (cperry) on Pirate which stated the following:

"If you were not fortunate enough to snag a big spindle D60, then your spindle will need to be bored out. Not all D60 spindles can be bored, there are some very rare D60s that have very small spindles. The borable spindles have an OD that measures close to 2'' and the ID needs to be bored to 1.560."