• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

The differences between 71-77 bronco chassis????

Bhall75

Loc.
Atlanta
I was hoping someone could help me with a couple of questions.

1) The 76-77 had an anti-sway bar. Did this change the bronco drastically from other earlier models(71-75 only)

2) The 77 had a different 9 inch rear end. Was this a big deal?

I'm trying to determine if there is a big difference between 71-77 models as far as stability and chassis Goes while disregarding PS,PB, and disc brakes.

Thanks,

Last edited:

73azbronco

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Since I'm now an expert on axles, there is a 66-75 small bearing rear axle with 10" drum brakes, there is a 66-75 big bearing with 11" drum brakes (heavy duty axle), there is an oddball 74-75 small bearing 10" inch drum brake rear end, and the 76-77 rear end which has big bearings and a slightly longer axle to match up to the different style rear 11" drum brakes.

Front axles on 76-77 may come with factory disks, otherwise every other year had drum on all four corners, no pwer assist.

Broncobowsher

Total hack
The '76/7 changed track bar and steering linkage as well. From people who have had them stock it apparently made a signifient improvment. But that is stock. When you start modifying stuff, lift kits and the like, then all bets are off. Depending on how the lift was done it can range from better then stock (rare to actually happen this way) to functional (most common) and sometimes so damn scary it isn't safe to drive across a parking lot (generally not a kit but backyard fabrication).

The frames themselves didn't have any major changes. Track bar as mentioned, '77 has different gas tank mounting.