• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Upgrading CARB and Ignition. WHICH IS BEST ???

pnavarro170

Okay i need to update the carb and ignition system on a 69 with a 302, the motor is still healthy dont think it has anything special on it but headers.

Im not an expert on engine stuff at all actually. So i was advised on a holley 600cfm or even edelbrock 800cfm . So i was wondering what yall thought also.

Also is upgrading the ignition system as easy as just getting new coil, distributer and wires ?? i was leaning toward the pertronix brand middle end.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks

dave67fd

Bronco Guru
The Pertronix is a great inexpensive, easy and reliable upgrade. You will get 100's of suggestions on the carb but stick with the 600cfm as a maximum. I have used Holleys for years with great success. Make sure you add new quality wires recommended (resistive?), plugs cap and rotor to go with it.

You didn't mention if the intake is currently a stock 2bl. If so, stick with a low profile dual plane intake. Make sure you confirm any added height of the intake/carb/air cleaner combo so your hood will shut if thats a concern.

rguest3

Bronco Guru