• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Welding instruction in the STL?

rockingm82

Loc.
St. Peters, MO
Anyone in the St. Louis area know a thing or two about welding and willing to pass it along? Working on my Broncos I find there's a lot more I don't know than what I do. I have little experience working on cars and when I find myself in over my head I run to Steve at AWS and open my pocket book. Thank goodness he's a great dude. I find on many occasions that welding is a necessity. I have the equipment and I can certainly booger weld, but I don't know if I'm even starting in the right spot. I can read books and watch videos, but nothing beats experience and someone calling me a knuckle head over my shoulder.

Here's what I've got
Alpha TIG 200 X
Hobart Handler 140
Lincoln WeldPak 180HD
ESAB Power Cut 650

I worked over seas for many years and accumulated all this stuff. At the time I had a huge garage plumbed for 220. I've since got married had kids and moved to a more sensible suburbia home that doesn't have 220 in the garage so my 220 stuff is collecting dust.

I'd be willing to trade booze or lend out equipment in return for some genuinely good instruction.

71broncman

Loc.
Woodland Park, Co
If you have a 220V/ 30 amp electric dryer outlet wired into the house you can make an extension cord to run any of the tools on your list. I did this on my last house to run a Lincoln 220V buzz box, which is supposed to have a 50 amp circuit, and it worked pretty well. Then you can source some scrap of various thickness and practice in your garage. Just throwing that out there as an option.
Mark.

CraigS