• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Steering Column Rebuild - TIPS - 3 speed manual

Fireball05

Bronco Guru
Guys,

Today we rebuilt my original 3 speed column in my '76. I had done a fair few numbers of searches, and there isn't a ton of info out there. The rebuild is fairly straightforward. I'm by no means a master mechanic, my friend helping me is pretty darn good with these things, but that being said, take this advice at your own caution!

I bought the rebuild kit from JBG: http://broncograveyard.com/bronco/i-17011-column-rebuild-kit-man-76-77.html

1. Disassembly is pretty well documented. Note that the rebuild kit did not include the upper column snap ring or the curved washer that goes b/w the column and the shift sleeve, so make sure you take caution when removing those items. Picture below has all the old parts on top, new stuff on the bottom. I circled the parts that didn't come with the rebuild kit. The pin that goes through the shift lever and secures the lever to the sleeve wasn't included in my kit, but that was an oversight by JBG and they are sending me a new one.

2. Reassemby begins with the lower bearing. You can screw or weld it in place. We didn't see a need for welding. Use caution when planning out the location of the 3 screws. We put them a little too close to the end, and broke 2 taps trying to go through the welds on the underside. 2 of the 3 screws used to secure the bearing to the column are seen in this photo.