• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Broken bolt removal inline 6

Gsav69

Contributor
Hey folks. My dumbass ordered a borgeson power steering kit for the inline 6 that mounts to the drivers side of the motor beteeen the disributor and radiator hose to the two holes on either side of a freeze out plug. Of course i never looked at the mounting point and i have a busted bolt in the left (closest to front) hole thats a little below flush. There is def not a ton of meat to drill it out put an insert in with the same size bolt. I am a novice welder at best and wonder if I should try and weld a washer and bolt and back it out or drill it out. I'd post a pic but I'm unable. Thx in advance.

blade

Contributor
Maker of sharp things
Loc.
Santa Fe
Welding a washer and then a nut to the broken bolt is a good way to remove it because the heat helps the piece come loose. if it's really seized in there another option is to drill it out a size larger and tap new threads.

B RON CO

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Statesville, NC
Hi, Hanson makes very short ez outs for broken bolts where there is not a lot of depth and you can't use the longer spiral ez outs. Hanson # 53228. Put some tape on the drill bit so you don't drill into the block. I use left hand drill bits for broken bolts. Sometimes you get lucky and the left hand drill will spin out the broken piece. Good luck

OP
OP
G

Gsav69

Contributor