• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

d20 low to high range shifting on the fly

bluesbish

Loc.
Upstate New York
just curious if anyone else shifts their D20 from 2 low to 2 high while moving. My bronco has been in pieces for 4 years now, but I used to do this all the time. I used to run through 4 gears and then to high range and then back to 3rd and then 4th. no real purpose, just sounded cool with lots of quick shifts like a big rig. surprisingly the D20 would shift quite nicely like that with just a soft grind. not sure if and how much damage this causes. curious to see what others think.

travis77

Loc.
Pasadena MD
I'm no expert, but this sounds like a bad idea to me. X2 on popping the inspection cover for a look.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Some of the books I've read do say the Dana 20 can be shifted from 2hi to 4hi while rolling. Recommended speed is below 40 mph though, if I remember.
Although I always liked to be sitting still or only going a couple of mph, if you say you didn't have any real grinding of note, I doubt you did any real harm. Might have slightly rounded off some gear corners, but mot much else. And if anything, that might make it even easier to shift at speed.
From what I'm gathering too, if you're going from 4lo, you're really only going a few miles per hour anyway. Right? Maybe less than 20 or so?

As always, but maybe more in your case, just make sure you keep good clean fluid in there and don't figure it's "lubed-for-life" or anything like that.
What fluid did you run before, and what are you planning to run in the future?

Paul

casadejohnson

Bronco Alchemist