• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Looking for rebuilt 170 6-cylinder

klundeen

Hello Bronco Crew...

Okay, I've been restoring a 1967 Bronco for the past 7 years. It's been an honor and a privilege! The engine was in mostly running order when I picked it up...just required a few basics (new fuel pump, water pump, starter, etc...all bolt-on stuff). However, over the past year, the engine has developed a serious rod knock and is sounding like it's time for a rebuild. I always thought that I'd do a V8 swap when the 170 hit it's last mile...but now that it's here, I've realized that I prefer the slower place that this thing takes me whenever I drive it. My speed goes down. My hurry goes down. My stress goes down. I like the pace of the 170. And now, I've decided that I want to keep it as original as possible.

So, I'm looking for some help sourcing a rebuilt 170. None of the shops around me are interested in the project, so I'll likely be tackling it myself. I'd love if anyone had any leads for me (or mentoring guidance!). What is considered best practice for rebuilding this old six?

Thanks in advance for any help, tips, or leads you can send my way.

Best, KDL

Broncobowsher

Total hack
I know you said you like the slower pace, but I bet you would really like a stock 200 instead.

Give us a location. That would be a start.

The six just doesn't have the aftermarket support and supply chain. You can't just go get one. You will have to find one and have it rebuilt.

OP
OP
klundeen

klundeen

I know you said you like the slower pace, but I bet you would really like a stock 200 instead.

Give us a location. That would be a start.