• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

speedo gauge cluster issue - any thoughts???

Jbwalsh76

In full disclosure...I'm a newbie...I just bought my first EB (had it about a week now).

My speedometer and ALT aren't reading at all (which I knew about before buying) and my other gauges (ie temp, oil and fuel) are pegged all the way as soon as I start the engine. Engine is running fine...

Anybody ever have this happen before?

I first thought gauge was toast, but now I'm thinking maybe just an electrical short.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Millercorey

Have you checked the lines in the back to confirm they’re present and attached? The speedo isn’t electrical in any way to my knowledge - it spins. Either not there or not attached is my guess.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Hey JB, welcome. Ok, so you've been here for a month and have 10 posts, but I figured I'd say hey anyway.

These things are all un-related for the most part, even though they share the same cluster. So a few details please.
For example, is this stock wiring? Original and in good shape, or totally hacked by the previous owners (the dreaded "PO's" that you read so much about with Broncos), or perhaps replaced with new.

What year Bronco? Basically, what shape is it in?

The ammeter is it's own gauge. Nothing else connected, but let us know if it might say "volts" on it which would mean it's been replaced.
The fuel and temp and press are all on the same circuit so the pegged gauges may be a failed IVR (instrument voltage regulator) or bad sending units. Though all three being bad the same way is unlikely.