• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Volvo fan popping fuses

Bitch'nBronco

Contributor
Loose Cannon
Loc.
Havre De Grace, MD
How do I test a fan motor to tell if it's going bad? I've been running a volvo 740 fan for 6 years with no issues up until recently. I'm using the volvo relay pack and a BMW dual temp switch to trigger the fan. The 30a fuse going to the fan keeps popping at random intervals, I've checked all the wiring and found nothing wrong. I'm beginning to think the fan motor itself is going bad but don't know how to test it. It kind of hard starts (I'll try and get a video in the next few days), not sure how to describe it but it's definitely different from when I first started running this fan.

I may just finally go back to a mechanical fan but need to drive the Bronco a little before my move and want to see if I can troubleshoot it this weekend.

The fan is wired just like the diagram, my switched 12v is off of the ignition.
bda61381e6af202a7e06aaa0de94505f.jpg

Sent from my SM-G981V using Tapatalk

1sicbronconut

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Don't know about the Volvo fans but Ford electric fans draw more than 30 amps to get them starting to run, after they start 30 amps will work fine for the load.

OP
OP
Bitch'nBronco

Bitch'nBronco

Contributor
Loose Cannon
Loc.
Havre De Grace, MD
I believe that, I just don't understand why after years of running 30A fuse it all of a sudden starts to pop. The wire leading to the fuse was warm the last time the fuse blew. That's why since I checked all my wires and connections that I think its the motor going bad. I just don't know how to test it.

nvrstuk

Contributor
Just a Bronco driver for over 50 yrs!