• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

With no electrical experience would you take on a wiring harness?

cookie

Loc.
Acworth, GA
Randy, I feel your pain about working up the nerve to start pull out wires. I will crawl up under my dash and hood about once a week , shake my head cuss a little and wind up drinking a beer. I am a pretty fair mechanic/parts changer, but when it comes to electrical problems they are not my strong point. Good luck.

Jay

trailerjack

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Central Texas
I was in the same boat as you when it came to rewiring my Scout way back when. I just decided to do it, and took my time. I went the extra step and soldered every connection and then used heat shrink tubing. Yes, it took forever, but I never had to worry about those crimp-type tubes coming lose...

It's not bad, just follow the directions and take your time. I think with me, it took about 3 leisurely weeks, but I got really good at soldering!

bronconate68

Loc.
Vancouver, WA
I went back and re-read a post from Paul from earlier in the summer......Since the shop "corrected" my fusible link issue I never upgraded that wire to 16g or to a Maxi fuse rated at 40-60.

If all that power goes through that wire I will try and upgrade it to 16g or a maxi fuse unless y'all think it would be a fire hazard.

I was blowing the fuse for the blinkers and tail lights. I put a 30 amp fuse in to get by and it would blow on every outing. Turns out I had a short to ground. Make sure your body, motor, frame are grounded proper then look for a short to ground. At least that is where I would start.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
You've got some serious power surges going in there!