• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

best mounting spot for elec fuel pump

bluebronco69

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Damascas, OR
its a holley blue, can i mount it on the inner fender so it is easy to get to/protect/clean out? or does it have to go under the truck by the fuel valve (dual tanks) ? id like to mount this as soon as i can just trying to get this planned out and get some fittings too

weasel

Loc.
Norfolk
I'm no expert on electric fuel pumps, that's why I have issues with mine; but if the pump is meant for a crab set up you have to mount it close to the tank, From what I've heard.

broncnaz

Bronco Guru
Best place to mount it is on the frame in between the 2 tanks. Almost all electric pumps are better pushers than pullers. Usually the instructions will also tell you to mount it as cloase to the tank as possible.Might be even better since your running dual tanks. Mounting near the tanks also reduces the amount of heat the pump is exposed to compared to the engine bay. Cooler fuel means more power although I doubt there much gain in a bronco application.
Now there are people that have mounted them in the engine bay and have had no problems so its basically up to you.

quikdrummer

Loc.
Chino Valley, AZ
Best place to mount it is on the frame in between the 2 tanks. Almost all electric pumps are better pushers than pullers.

x2

i had one mounted in the engine compartment and had lots of issues on hills, when it got hot, etc

i have mine on the inside of the frame right in front of the tank

thegreatjustino

Contributor
Red Head Grease Monkey
Loc.
Stockton, CA